L.A. Film Critics Assn. Names ‘Social Network’ Best Picture

Winners also include Colin Firth for ‘The King’s Speech’ and Kim Hye-ja for ‘Mother.’

The Los Angeles Film Critics Assn. has joined the growing chorus of support for The Social Network by naming it best picture of the year. The critics group, which met Sunday, also gave awards to the film’s screenplay by Aaron Sorkin.

It also gave its directing nod to Network’s David Fincher, only in that case the award ended in a tie, with the prize also going to Olivier Assayas for Carlos, his portrait of international terrorist Illich Ramirez Sanchez, which was the runner-up in the best picture category. [Related: Social Network named best picture by the N.Y. Films Critics Online and the Boston Society of Film Critics.]

Colin Firth took best actor honors for his tongue-tied monarch in The King’s Speech. (CarlosEdgar Ramirez was the runner-up.) Kim Hye-ja claimed best actress for her portrayal of a mother looking for her son’s killer in Mother, with Winter Bone’s Jennifer Lawrence named runner-up.

Jacki Weaver of the Australian crime tale Animal Kingdom has been named best supporting actress and Niels Arestrup of the French prison drama A Prophet has been named best supporting actor by the critics group.

Carlos did prevail as best foreign film, while Toy Story 3 was chosen best animated feature and Lixin Fan’s Last Train Home was singled out as best documentary.

A complete list of winners follows.

PICTURE: The Social Network

Runner-up: Carlos

DIRECTOR: Olivier Assayas, Carlos, and David Fincher, The Social Network (tie)

ACTOR: Colin Firth, The King’s Speech

Runner-up: Edgar Ramirez, Carlos

ACTRESS: Kim Hye-ja, Mother

Runner-up: Jennifer Lawrence, Winter’s Bone

MUSIC/SCORE: Alexandre Desplat, The Ghost Writer, and Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross, The Social Network (tie)

PRODUCTION DESIGN: Guy Hendrix Dyas, Inception

Runner-up: Eve Stewart, The King’s Speech

CINEMATOGRAPHY: Matthew Libatique, Black Swan

Runner-up: Roger Deakins, True Grit

SUPPORTING ACTRESS: Jacki Weaver, Animal Kingdom

Runner-up: Olivia Williams, The Ghost Writer

SUPPORTING ACTOR: Niels Arestrup, A Prophet

Runner-up: Geoffrey Rush, The King’s Speech


Runner-up: Mother

ANIMATION: Toy Story 3

Runner-up: The Illusionist

SCREENPLAY: Aaron Sorkin, The Social Network

Runner-up: David Seidler, The King’s Speech


Runner-up: Exit Through the Gift Shop

NEW GENERATION: Lena Dunham, Tiny Furniture


LEGACY OF CINEMA AWARDS: Serge Bromberg, Henri-Georges Clouzot’s Inferno, and the F.W. Murnau Foundation and Fernando Pena for the restoration of Metropolis


source: http://www.hollywoodreporter.com/news/la-film-critics-assn-names-59064